What Goes Up Must Come Down

Unfortunately my good mood on Thursday didn’t survive into Friday. The day started off fine, although I had to get up early to go in to the hospital to have bloods taken before work on Friday. But about midday I went to ‘relieve myself’ (I’m trying to sound lady-like) and noticed dark discharge (oops, not so lady-like!). This always happens for several days before my period, so I was pretty convinced that I wasn’t pregnant.

My FS is away until Monday, so I asked my GP to check my blood results at the end of the day and email me if they were back. Only the HCG was back, and it was 1. 1? 1?! Even though Friday was only 10 or 11 DPO that’s a pretty clear negative. My progesterone level wasn’t back yet so I can’t be completely sure that I ovulated, but my very positive OPK is a strong indication that I did. I’m going to POAS on Monday if my period hasn’t arrived (ya know, just for kicks), but my focus has already shifted to next cycle. I felt pretty flat last night but I’m feeling fine today.

Thursday was a great day though. I had a blast with my girlfriends at the moonlight cinema, although unfortunately my tomato tart was a bit of a disaster! I’ve made it dozens of time before but this time during the cooking process it collapsed and ended up looking more like a pizza. I used a different brand of ricotta and it was much less solid than the usual one and didn’t set very well. It wasn’t pretty, it was a bit messy, but we enjoyed it anyway! One of the other girls made a pasta salad and another one brought home-made bags of popcorn. A fourth (who used to be a patisserie chef) made triple choc chip biscuits. Divine.

                                 

On Thursday I also made a new page for the Fertility Folder – oh the joys of being Obsessive-Compulsive! It is called The Tumour Plan. And in related news, the verdict is in! I do, in fact, have a brain. My husband was quite surprised. Here is the proof:

 

4 Comments

Filed under Infertility, Non-IF Stuff, Photos

4 responses to “What Goes Up Must Come Down

  1. JC

    I’m sorry about your results. Idk what 1 means, I’d be pretty irritated by that. It’s not 0 so idk what to think. But, WOW nice brain! What part is the tumor, can you draw an arrow or something? I hope everything is ok. And I hope you have a great weekend! =)

    • Tio

      You can’t see the tumour in the picture I posted. They take special close-up views of the pituitary to measure it, but those pictures are much less recognisable as a brain! Plus at 4 mm it’s too small fo me to actually see even on the close-up views. Which is a good thing, I guess!

  2. Hmmm, I am not schooled in HCG numbers, but I don’t think you are out of the game yet. It takes a while for HCG to build up in your blood, even if you do have a little eggie implanting, right? Don’t lose hope–it’s not over til it’s over. Hoping you have a great rest of the w/e and NICE BRAIN, lady! 🙂

  3. Hey girl! Fill us in– did AF show??