Timing is Everything

Still no positive OPK.
I was hoping – after such lovely results last cycle – that Clomid would magically give me reliable, predictable cycles; but it appears my wish has not been granted.

Don’t get me wrong, I do not think all hope is over just because my OPKs are still resolutely negative at CD14. But it throws things off a bit in terms of timing.

Firstly, H is heading away for 2 or 3 days of bloke time tomorrow. With a negative OPK today there’s not much hope that I’ll ovulate before he goes. So the options are: (1) I’ll ovulate while he’s away; (2) I’ll ovulate late; (3) I won’t ovulate at all. My CM is definitely showing fertile signs which is reassuring, but it makes me think that Eggbert (cheesy nickname, I know) will ‘pop’ while H is away, which would be inconvenient to say the least. Thankfully H is quite prepared to drive the 2.5 hours home, attempt to knock me up, then drive back if I do ovulate while he’s away. But I have to say I’m not all that keen on him doing all that driving, especially as the return trip will be made in a post-coital haze!

Secondly, if this cycle is more than two or so days longer than last cycle (which it almost definitely will be) and is unsuccessful, my likely fertile days next cycle fall while I am visiting the fam in New Zealand. Somehow I don’t think H will be able to take a 4 hour flight there and back just for some baby-making nooky.

Sigh.

While I was trying to mentally solve the timing dilemmas this morning I thought to myself “why can’t this just be easy?”. And then I realised something. I don’t care if it’s easy – I am quite prepared to put in as much effort as necessary; I just want it to be quick!!

5 Comments

Filed under Infertility, Ovulation

5 responses to “Timing is Everything

  1. I ovulated on CD16 with my first cycle of Clomid (which was the cycle that I got pregnant with my boys). I hope it happens quick, too!

  2. I agree w/the quickness..Nothing we have done during this TTC time has been easy..but Im ready for some results!! Also, you have an award waiting for you on my blog =)

  3. mummydr

    I ovulated on different day each clomid month even on the same dose. Keep peeing. Good luck.

  4. JC

    I hope you get a + tomorrow!!! Don’t worry about it not happening yet, I think mine were around day 16 on Clomid so I think it’ll happen. That’s sweet of your hubby to drive home for some BD if he happens to be away when you do get a +. But I’m really hoping it’s tomorrow!!!