Sorry, But I’m A Mess

I was going to write an introductory post to welcome ICLWers, but to be honest I’m not capable at the moment.

For those of you who are first-timers to my blog, I got my first positive pregnancy test 4 days ago. Well, today I started spotting. I know that it not uncommon to spot during early pregnancy and it may not mean anything, but on the other hand it might mean everything.  And I want this baby. I really, really want it.

So at the moment I’m a bit anxious. Well, perhaps upset is more truthful. Hm, actually inconsolable is a better word.

But….

My husband is at a vineyard 40 minutes away at a party and I’m supposed to be joining him there. He doesn’t have a car there so he can’t get back home on his own. So, I’m going to go. I don’t feel much like partying, but I bloody well don’t want to sit home alone sobbing either. And what better place to seek distraction than a vineyard, right?

If any of you newbies want to know more about me (and I haven’t put you off with my panicked ramblings and snotty nose) you can click here.

In the meantime, if you don’t mind, keep your fingers crossed for me? I’d appreciate it.

30 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

30 responses to “Sorry, But I’m A Mess

  1. I hope that by the time you read this post, the spotting has stopped and you can breathe a bit more easily. You’re right. It’s common. I’ve read also that it’s even more common right around when AF is due the first time.

    You could call your doc on Monday and ask to have your HCG checked to have it monitored. It may give you peace of mind.

    I’m keeping everything crossed for you!

    ICLW

  2. Secret Sloper

    My fingers are crossed that this is nothing to worry about. My mom said she spotted with each of her four pregnancies. Try to stay calm, hard as it is.

    Thinking of you.

  3. I have everything crossed for you, Tio. I’ve read about lots of women spotting and everything was A-OK and I’m going to remain positive that’s what’s happening here, too.

  4. My sister spotted through two of her three pregnancies. I had an all-out bleed with the boys and a few weeks ago with my current pregnancy that turned out to be nothing to worry about. I will be praying that your spotting is nothing as well.

  5. Leslie

    I am so sorry to hear about your spotting. I have heard it is quite common — I hope that it stops very soon and stays away so you can enjoy your pregnancy. Fingers/toes crossed for you!!!

  6. I can understand how worried you must be – to an IFer we all know what spotting usually means. But it can mean so many other things, too. It can mean that your little one is just snuggling in there like it’s supposed to, and everything is on track! Hang in there. I’ll be thinking of you and sending some positive thoughts across the ocean to you!

  7. just caught up on your blog – congrats!!! I will keep everything crossed for you about the spotting!

  8. I am sending you hugs – hope everything is okay and that the spotting has stopped!!

    Thinking of you TIO.

  9. Oh, many thoughts with you. Even if it is common, it doesn’t help the nerves! Best wishes for a healthy pregnancy!!

  10. Ohh, honey. I know that spotting is certainly considered normal, but it doesn’t make it any less scary. Fingers crossed that this is nothing and that the betas will look great. Have you had several done already? Thinking about you.

  11. I am sure you are stressing right now, I am saying a prayer that it is no big deal and that the your doc is able to get you in quick and re-assure you tomorrow!

    ICLW

  12. I will definitely keeep my fingers crossed for you and I’ll keep you in my thoughts and prayers. I spotted early in my pregnancy too. Sorry if this is TMI, but it was mostly pink and brown old blood stuff. Once I got into the Dr to have my worries some what relieved I found out it was a uterine hemangioma. Which is basically just a pocket of blood from AF that needs somewhere to go, so it builds up and finally comes out. I’m hoping this is the same for you. CONGRATS on the BFP, and I hope that you’re able to take it easy, relax, and that this little one stays stuck.

    ICLW

  13. I am visiting from ICLW week. Don’t apologize for being where you are. I had a chemical (and didn’t spot at all btw) and a m/c so I know all too well the fears you face. I hope that your story turns out better than mine however, I was comforted to read how many women undergo these things and have healthy pregnancies. But as IF girls, we worry so much as we know so much. I hope that you get some betas done to see how it’s progressing. That is a VERY long wait for an ultrasound though. I am crossing everything for you!

  14. ohh, thoughts & prayers! Hope to read soon that the spotting was nothing!

    ICLW
    iwillbeamom.blogspot.com

  15. The Barreness

    Sending you sticky thoughts, and hope that it turns out to be nothing to worry about! ICLW

  16. Jin

    Keeping my fingers crossed for you. Keep us updated here and on twitter.

  17. I have everything crossed for you. I spotted at the beginning, too, and all is well, so I am hopeful that everything is okay for you and your baby, too. Hang in there and please keep us posted. I am thinking of you.

  18. Everything is crossed for this baby to stick!!! Think positive!!!
    ICLW

  19. Congrats on the BFP! I hope the bleeding stops and everything will continue to move along!

  20. burkey0906

    I have followed your blog and I’m so happy you got your BFP. Like everyone, I wish you all the very best and hope this spotting is normal and your baby sticks x

    I have also nominated you for the Beautiful Blogger Award! To receive it please visit my blog
    http://infertilityandme.wordpress.com/ and copy the award and follow the instructions posted. Congratulations!

  21. Keeping my fingers crossed and don’t be too upset yet. Seems that would do more harm than good. Keep us posted. Wishing you well.

  22. I’m very sorry to hear about the spotting and hope that it has stopped by the time you receive this message. Thoughts and prayers for a sticky bean!

    Melissa
    ICLW

  23. I hope your spotting has stopped, I am anxious for your next post. Congrats on the BFP, I know that was a long time coming.

  24. I’m sorry that you are having a rough time right now, especially after you just got such great news. I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed for you that the spotting is nothing.

    Best wishes!

  25. Oh, I am so sorry that you are feeling terrified. I hope that it is normal and everything is A-ok. GL-

  26. Tio

    Thank you all so much for your kind comments. It has truly helped during these anxious two days. What a great community of women!

  27. Thrilled to hear about your BFP! Praying this is it!

    ICLW

  28. Fingers are definitely crossed…and I am not scared away by your tears and snotty nose if you are not scared away by mine!

    I will be thinking lots of good thoughts for you and checking back to see (hopefully) nothing but good news from you 🙂

    {ICLW}

  29. I can’t blame you for feeling so scared. I hate that infertility robs us of the happiness we should be feeling… Unfortunately knowing so much makes it worse.

    Trying to hang in there.

    Hugs.

  30. Pingback: A Timely Reminder « The Impatient Optimist