The Bad and The Good

I am sick.

I thought I felt a cold coming on a few days ago, and was pleased when I woke up in the morning feeling just fine.

Yesterday though, after a day out trawling the baby shops test-driving prams with H, the cold hit me. I was feeling pretty exhausted by the time we got home, shortly afterwards became very headachey, and was asleep on the couch about 5 minutes after dinner. I took myself off to bed at about 9pm, and then spent the night sleeping fitfully, frequently waking up with a horrible headache and sore throat. I felt so rotten that I was having nightmares about H having to take me to hospital, that my tonsilitis had become an abscess which was being drained with some big-ass needles, and that I needed IV antibiotics but no one could decide which ones were safest in pregnancy.

Sigh.

I feel (minimally) better now that the sun is up, but I’m spending the day in bed or on the couch in the hope that one day of rest will save me from 3 or 4 days getting over this bug. None of the jobs I wanted to get done today will get done, but I fervently hope I will be back to my scheduled activities tomorrow.

In better news, H and I have chosen the pram we want. I originally thought we’d choose a Phil & Ted’s, but when we tried it out we weren’t impressed. We’ve chosen instead another New Zealand brand, Mountain Buggy. We’re going to get the Swift, which has the added benefit of coming with a carrycot which will be awesome while Bert is an infant.

So now I’m online trawling for the best bargain!

1 Comment

Filed under Non-IF Stuff

One response to “The Bad and The Good

  1. Sorry you are feeling sick. I found colds to be so much worse when you are pregnant because for one you are paranoid about how the baby is doing and secondly because you cannot take anything for it. I drank a lot of OJ and warm water with honey and lemon (not a great combo but it helped!). I hope you are feeling better soon.Cool looking pram!