Ups and Downs

I’ve been feeling a little less emotionally exhausted in the last few days. I’m still tired, and fragile, but not quite as much of a disaster as I was a few days ago. Even though I have still been doing more than perhaps I would like, I’ve taken a step back from the frantic nesting I was doing a week ago. I’ve realised that things don’t have to be perfect, and I still have 14 weeks to get organised. That sense of urgency has abated.

Unfortunately I’m still uncomfortable to the point of pain most days. The baby seems to have had a growth spurt in the last two weeks and I keep hoping that once that slows down and my tummy muscles have a chance to catch up I’ll start feeling more comfortable – but it hasn’t happened yet! I’m still getting pretty serious discomfort under my left ribs, mostly later in the day. I’m also getting pretty serious restless legs (and sometimes arms) in the evenings, and on more than on occasion have been seen lying on the couch flapping around like a fish out of water. Pain + restlessness + poor sleep = distress during the time of the day I most need some rest and recuperation.

I don’t mean to complain. I love being pregnant and I’d put up with a whole lot more if I had to, and I feel ungrateful when I whine about the side effects of pregnancy. I have never wanted to be one of those women who sees pregnancy as an illness. I have aspired to be one of those pregnant women who don’t let pregnancy get in the way of living their life, and doing it with good grace. I guess part of the problem is that I feel disappointed that I’m not undertaking this pregnancy with the grace and ease I had envisaged.

But…. the important thing is that I am feeling better in my head, even if I don’t always feel wonderful in my body.

H and I had a lovely anniversary yesterday. When we married I carried white tulips, and yesterday H bought me a big bunch before we went out for dinner to a fantastic little restaurant  in the city. The food and service were divine.

On our first anniversary last year I indulged in a little fantasy, and pictured myself at our next anniversary with a lovely round belly. I wished and hoped that my fantasy would come true, and it has. How lucky am I?

I delayed my 26 week picture in order to take it two days later on our anniversary. I have posted the picture which shows the belly shortly before we left for dinner. I think it was even bigger by the time dinner was over!

2 Comments

Filed under Pregnancy

2 responses to “Ups and Downs

  1. Red

    I know what you mean about being disappointed at not enjoying EVERY aspect of pregnancy. But, it isn’t the most comfortable way to spend 9 months, so you’d be crazy to *love* the discomfort!

    Good news is that second time around you seem to have more grace and enjoyment with the pregnancy. Either it is that you are too busy to register your own discomfort or you realise that things get harder, not easier once bubba is born! 🙂 But it would be remiss of me not to say it is all worth it.

  2. Jin

    I know what you mean. My restless legs have turned into a bad case of sciatic nerve pain and it’s only on one side so most the day I’m limping around. I get upset that I can’t seem to be fully accepting of it – I mean this one sucks and none of the websites/books tell you how bad it can get . Blah. Happy belated anniversary!