Bone Tired

Night shift is over for this week, and I’m completely shattered. This weekend will be very busy too. I got home from work this morning, had a two-hour nap, and since then have been tidying the house for my mother-in-law’s imminent arrival. Tomorrow we have our labour/delivery and early parenting classes. That means I have to stay awake and concentrate from 9 until 5, and of course after that we will be entertaining the MIL. Luckily I get on well with my MIL and she won’t be particularly demanding, but I already know I’m going to be completely pooped. I’m so physically tired that I can barely keep myself upright while I type this, and MIL and a family friend are due any minute. H is stuck late at work so I’ll be doing the hosting solo until he gets home.

Sunday will be lovely but again not very restful. It’s our day to be out and about doing baby-related things with H’s mum. She’s so excited about this baby and this is her only visit during the pregnancy so she will want to make the most of it.

And then next week I get to do night shift all over again. Eight days straight – that’s 80 hours of work in a week. The only silver lining (and it’s pretty small) is that I have finished working at the location where I was seconded for the last 6 months and which was almost an hour’s drive away. From next week I’ll be back at my home base, just a 10 minute walk from home. I figure that will work out to at least an extra hour of sleep a day!

Tomorrow marks 28 weeks of pregnancy, which means that today is my final day of the second trimester. It depends somewhat which source you use, but I’m basing the end of the 2nd T at 27 weeks completed, which is what my father informs me is correct. And I guess he would know, since he’s been looking after pregnant women for longer than I’ve been alive. And even if he’s wrong, there’d be no convincing him of it 😉

~ ~ ~

Third trimester. Holy moly.

1 Comment

Filed under Baby Stuff, Family

One response to “Bone Tired

  1. I am so sorry that these nightshifts are making you feel so tired… hope the fact that you will be closer to home will help.
    Cannot wait to hear how the parenting class and the MIL’s visit went. Hope you are managing to rest in between all these activities!!!
    Welcome to the third trimester, I also count from the 28th week!