Getting to Know My Couch

It is disgraceful that I’ve been home on leave for more than two weeks and still haven’t written a post about how I ended up on leave earlier than planned. Bad blogger!

I turned 30 on September 20th. In an unusually fortuitous piece of rostering, I had a four-day weekend over my birthday. In an even more surprising turn of events, H had the same four days off work. THIS NEVER HAPPENS. Fours days off, together, and over my birthday? Unbelievable.

I had a lovely weekend, filled with several birthday celebrations, including my first surprise party (which I truly did not see coming – I am thoroughly gullible). Lovely H went to a lot of effort including decorating with balloons and streamers, which is not something my macho husband has done before. My girlfriends totally spoiled me with not one but two girls-only birthday events. It was wonderful.

The downside was that I was physically much more active than I should have been. I knew that I was pushing my limits, but darn it, I’m only going to turn 30 once and I was determined to make the most of it! Work had already become a struggle – the 10 hour shifts, spent largely on my feet with lots of bending and moving, were pretty difficult on my pelvis. I was truly dreading returning to work on the Wednesday afternoon after my long weekend.

Luckily I didn’t have to!

I had my 34 week OB appointment on Wednesday morning. The moment my doc saw me waddling and wincing my way into his office he flat-out banned me from returning to work. I have to admit that I felt hugely relieved. I’d been dreaming of taking early leave ever since my pelvic instability was diagnosed, but to be honest I felt too guilty. I was rostered to work up until 36 weeks, and I guess I didn’t want to feel like I was wimping out and leaving my colleagues in the lurch. Having the doctor take the decision out of my hands took all of the pressure off me. I went into work after my appointment and was able to tell them that, rather than not coping with work, I wasn’t allowed to work. (And the added benefit is that the extra time off was sick leave rather than coming out of my maternity leave).

I quickly realised that there was simply no way I would have coped with the 80 hours of work I had been rostered to work over the 10 days following my appointment. After my birthday weekend and several weeks of powering-on through work when I really should have been taking it easy my body simply gave up. I spent the first 3 days in bed or on the couch, sleeping frequently, and infrequently painfully hobbling to the kitchen or bathroom. I felt truly disgusting. I’d been ‘keeping-on keeping-on’ for weeks, and now that I had the chance to rest, my body went on strike.

The good news is that after that much-needed period of rest I did regain a little mobility. I’m still in pain every day, but it is mostly manageable and I’m sleeping well enough at night that I rarely need an afternoon nap. I do spent a fair amount of time getting to know my couch while reading or watching DVDs, but to be honest on some days I really enjoy the enforced laziness. Although I am only allowed to use the 5 stairs to our front door once a day, that does allow me a few trips to a friend’s place, the movies, or out for a meal. With the silver lining being that I have totally given up all responsibility for vacuuming and taking the rubbish out!

2 Comments

Filed under Doctors, Pregnancy

2 responses to “Getting to Know My Couch

  1. Happy belated birthday wishes and welcome being 30!Oh thank God for your doctor! You do not seem to be in a good shape sweetie and for him to have written you off work is the best thing for you and your little on too. Enjoy your couch and all the relaxation which seems to be doing you and your baby a lot of good already!

  2. Yay for Sept 20th babies– I love that we have the same birthday and that we both turned 30 this year!

    So sorry to hear about your pain but I’m so relieved to hear that your doctor made the decision to keep you home– you did not need to be working that crazy schedule!!