38 Weeks and Counting

Yesterday Bert and I hit the 38 week mark. I can’t believe that H and I will be parents within the next three weeks.

Over the last few days my belly had definitely dropped, and I know that at our 36 week appointment Bert’s head was engaged in the pelvis, but I haven’t had an internal exam yet so I have no idea what’s going on in cervix town. I’m not having any noticeable contractions. At times my tummy does seem to be tightening to the touch, however I don’t really notice any convincing Braxton Hicks sensations – they’re probably happening, I’m just not very aware of it.

There are a few things we need to get done around the house before Bert arrives (just small things like setting up the entire nursery and packing our hospital bags), and we can’t start the bulk of it until H finishes night shift on Wednesday, so I’m more than happy for Bert to stay put until the end of this week. I know that in reality he may well not arrive until the first week of November, but a tiny (unrealistic) part of me would quite like him to turn up at 39 or 39 and a half weeks.

We have our next appointment on Tuesday so I should have an update then… fingers crossed for some signs of activity.

1 Comment

Filed under Pregnancy

One response to “38 Weeks and Counting

  1. 38 weeks!! OMG, I’m so excited and I can’t wait to meet Bert!!