How Will made his entry to this world: the first installment

Even though I’m in the midst of trying to organise for our trip to New Zealand, as well as trying to encourage naps from our babe who hates to sleep during the day, I have decided that I’m loooong overdue posting about Will’s birth. Seriously overdue. And my memory of the event is probably already fading, so I need to put my pen to paper (in a figurative sense) before it becomes nothing more than a hazy dream. I have no illusions that I’ll get this story written in one sitting, one day, or possibly even one week. Starting it is the important part; eventually it will get finished, and posted.

I was due to give birth on October 30. I knew that meant that I may well deliver in early November, but as my pregnancy progressed I was really hopeful that I’d go into labour around my due date. I was very keen to avoid induction – my mother had two inductions both of which became c-sections, and I knew labour could be more painful if I needed to be induced. As keen as I was to avoid induction, I was also ready to get the party started. That last week of being pregnant felt like a month! The funny thing is that even a few days after Will was born, pregnancy felt like a distant dream. I have to look at photographs to remember how big my belly was.

I got my wish to avoid going overdue and went into labour early on October 29. I’d felt what I thought were Braxton Hicks contractions that afternoon, but they’d been short-lived.  H and I are both night owls (and subsequently very bad early risers!) and I’d gone to bed at 1am. H, who didn’t start work until 3pm the next day, didn’t come to bed until 4am. I woke up when he got into bed, and was aware of a couple more BH type contractions, and then one which felt slightly different – a little more intense. To be honest I didn’t think much of it. I got out of bed to go to the toilet, but only got a few steps down the hallway before I noticed that my pyjamas were suddenly wet. I’d had no continence issues during the pregnancy so didn’t think it was likely that I’d wet myself, but somehow I couldn’t quite believe that my waters had broken. The leak quickly became a gush however, and it was pretty obvious what was happening. Poor H had barely had 5 minutes in bed before I called to him from the bathroom telling him that he had to get up again! He was a little grumpy about it until I told him why! At this point it all started to feel a little surreal. Within a minute or so I was having semi-regular contractions, but I wasn’t timing them. I called the delivery suite while H packed his hospital bag (no amount of nagging had managed to get him to pack it any earlier! And so he of course forgot some important items – like his pyjamas!). I took a shower and then H taped the TENS machine to my back. By 5.45am we were on our way to the hospital. In the car I started timing my contractions and they were 2 to 3 minutes apart and lasting 30 seconds. Once I realised how close the contractions were I was glad that we were on our way – part of me thought I might end up with a very quick labour.

Oh, how wrong I was!

To be continued…

1 Comment

Filed under Labour/Delivery

One response to “How Will made his entry to this world: the first installment

  1. Can’t wait to hear the rest of Will’s birth story!